Ebb and flow

I’m not really sure whether being caught in an “ebb” means you’re really busy, or if being in a “flow” means you’re busy. In any case, I’ve been feeling like I’ve just been caught up in the general ebb and flow of everything, and as a consequence time has just gotten away from me. Not that anything especially special has been going on lately. Just a lot of working during the day and spending too much time playing around on my laptop during the evening hours. I wrote up a few posts about what I’ve been up to, but they are still half-finished. I’ll have to come back to them later.

Awhile back, I wrote about how much technology was taking over my life. I made the conscious effort to be aware (at least for one night) and step away for a little while. I turned off my laptop and…I did a lot of stuff. Stuff that needed to be done (laundry, dishes, cleaning…), stuff that I wanted to do (read a book, finish a project that’s been sitting on my counter for a month).

I did twelve different things in 3 hours! Maybe I was just finding stuff to do, but it was eye-opening. I felt much more productive, even if 75% of it was puttering around my apartment doing things I should have been doing anyway.

In light of that recent test, I’m on the hunt for more interesting things to do with myself. I need a new “hobby.” I’d like to find something to do that’s not sitting on my computer all the time or housework, but my city is a little boring. I could finish reading my pile of half-finished books, or finish knitting my half-finished blanket (I am not that much of a slacker…it just happens that I started a blanket without realizing how looooooong it would take. Serious com-knit-ment if you know what I mean). I’m not really sure what to try. Any suggestions?

Leave a comment